“Why is a raven like a writing desk?” The Mad Hatter asks Alice at the never-ending tea party.

Why is a Raven like a Writing Desk - Alice in Wonderland

“Have you guessed the riddle yet?” the Hatter said, turning to Alice again. 
“No, I give it up,” Alice replied. “What’s the answer?” 
“I haven’t the slightest idea,” said the Hatter. 
“Nor I,” said the March Hare. 
Alice sighed wearily. “I think you might do something better with the time,” she said, “than wasting it in asking riddles that have no answers.”

In truth, Lewis Carroll didn’t even know the answer to this riddle.

Only because the Mad Hatter is, well, mad, can the author get away with a dangling line such as that one without having any way to tie it up in a little bow at the end.

The moral to the excerpt is: don’t waste your time writing things that have no meaning or purpose to the rest of the story. (Unless, of course, your character is mad and you’re Lewis Carroll.)

Yesterday, I proudly finished my goal and read through the entire play and made notes. It is now a full 58 pages, just 2 shy of my goal. I think I may just leave it at 58 and call it a day. Any more writing, and it might turn into a mad tea party scene. So now what? I’m done editing it. I’m done lengthening it. Now I actually have to DO something with it. I may have mentioned that I produced this play in Hollywood back in 2006, but as a one-act. I don’t have the time or energy (or the interest, really) to produce it again myself. This time, I’m submitting it to theater companies, so they can produce it for me.

A friend asked, when I told him I would be submitting it to theaters, if I mind someone else taking my work and doing what they want with it. This may sound naive, but I’m kind of excited to see what someone else will do with it. My biggest mistake as a producer/director last time was that I never got a second set of eyes in that theater to give input.

Tomorrow’s goal: Compile a list of NYC theater companies looking for play submissions. I have a number of friends who run two separate theater companies, but unfortunately, they only accept really off-the-wall, crazy, borderline-absurd plays. And though my sense of humor is sometimes strange, it’s not quite any of those things.

