I produced my first play in 2003, and my second two in 2006. I’ve been involved in the theater in almost every aspect since I was a pre-teen. Though I’m also a screenwriter, playwriting is my true love. I’ve written 4 plays (technically 4 1/2, but we’ll leave it a 4 for the sake of argument) and one of the reasons my family and I moved back to New York City last spring was so that I could seriously pursue my writing for the stage. But after doing a little research, I’ve learned that I don’t know how to be a playwright.

Frankly, I don’t know why I’m admitting this to you. This is the kind of thing I should keep to myself, and then be sure to smile and nod when talking to people at fancy parties about how a playwright becomes a star.

My goal for yesterday was to make a list of NYC theater companies to submit my play to. Of course Google doesn’t start with the itty-bitty companies. Oh no. When you Google NYC theater companies, Google goes straight for your ego’s jugular with the Roundabout and Atlantic Theater Companies.

I’m a good writer. I know this. But I’m not sure if I’m ready for those big guns yet. I’m not putting myself down when I say this… I just think I need to experiment more with new scripts before I’m close to that level of greatness.

But while compiling a list of companies yesterday, I came across the terrible realization that I don’t know what I’m doing.

Here’s what I don’t have:

  1. A book called The Dramatists Sourcebook
  2. Correct formatting (though it looks just like published works, my formatting is all kinds of wrong)
  3. An agent

Granted, I knew I didn’t have #3, but #1 and #2 are showing me that it is premature to be compiling a list of NYC theater companies.

More importantly, I feel bad about the whole thing. I feel like I’m not good enough. I feel like an impostor in a world of real playwrights.

Eeyore

Okay, enough of that. I did not come all the way back to NYC and start a fucking blog about the whole thing just to feel sorry for myself.

Here’s what I’m gonna do:

  1. I’ll get an agent when my next play is produced
  2. I’ll reformat my play to the standard formatting
  3. I’ll buy the Dramatists Sourcebook (and screw you, Amazon, I’m walking to Barnes & Noble)

Today’s goal: Reformat and go buy the book.

