I bought a new book. No, not a reading book- it’s a friend for my Dramatists Sourcebook, who has been looking lonely on the bookcase. It’s the semi-equivalent: the 2012 Hollywood Representation Directory. Last month I submitted inquiry letters to theater companies for one of my plays- this month, I’ll be submitting inquiry letters to managers and agents for two of my screenplays.

I haven’t done something like this in the Hollywood world since I moved to Los Angeles in 2000 and sent a bazillion headshots and resumes to a bazillion agents who had never heard of me. But hey, I got an agent, didn’t I?

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I’ve contacted all of my film industry contacts and have had no success in getting anyone to even read my scripts (yeah, I’m totally embarrassed to admit that to you.) But when you’ve gotten to the bottom of the barrel, it’s time to start scraping.

And that means it’s time to start cold mailing. I’d cold call but I’m (a) afraid; and (b) pretty sure most people are too busy and don’t want to be caught off guard by a phone call from someone they don’t know, asking for something.

In anticipation of my Amazon.com delivery, I’ve already written my query letter. Now I have to fill out some envelopes, fill out some self-addressed, stamped envelopes, and put them all together. When the directory arrives, I’ll be ready to pick my top favorite agencies and management companies to send to. William Morris? Probably not. But a mid-sized firm that’s a little short on pregnant mama, dark-comedy writers? That’s my #1.

