These days it’s practically impossible to think of a popular TV show or movie from the past that hasn’t been remade in the last few years. Okay, that’s an exaggeration (I’m still waiting for the movie remake of Growing Pains starring Justin Bieber as Mike Seaver and Ralph Macchio as dear old work-at-home-psychiatrist and dad, Dr. Seaver.)

     

It’s getting irritating, and frankly, pathetic and gross. Studios and writers know doing a remake will be somewhat of a success, so they pass up the risk of doing something new and hit up the old favorite instead. Our movie industry is turning into a MacDonald’s: you loved the Big Mac twenty years ago? Don’t worry! You can still have it! Most ignorant Americans don’t seem to want to try anything out of their comfort zone anyway (why take a trip to Europe and explore other cultures when you can spend all your money at a Times Square hotel and be in the audience on Rachael Ray’s show?)

But I’m not an anarchist. I’m not even a sit-on-the-sidewalk protestor. Perhaps when I have a respected writing career of my own I’ll try to change the system. But right now? I just want a good idea with good execution that I can get some bigwig interested in. And today, that just happens to be a remake. I was watching a movie from the 80s that’s a sort-of cult classic and I decided it’s time to turn it into a 21st Century teen comedy remake (it wouldn’t be the first time either that I turned something old into a modern day teen comedy, but the other one was Shakespeare, which doesn’t fall in the same “remake” category.)

Between working on my query letters to NYC agents to get representation for the two scripts I’m already trying to sell, I’m working on the outline for my next script: a teen comedy remake of an 80s favorite (don’t worry, it’s not Breakfast Club, or any other Molly Ringwald favorite.)

But please let me know when they start negotiations with Ralph…

