In another attempt at reviving my peace, serenity, and career, I have finally cracked open The Artist’s Way. A friend gave it to me as a gift ten years ago and I’ve held onto it all this time. The book is described as “a spiritual path to higher creativity.”

The Artist’s Way leads you through a 12 week program of various exercises to aid you in exploring, expanding, and unearthing your creativity. In true borderline-OCD fashion, I have decided to start every new week of my work doing The Artist’s Way exercises, at the start of every new week of my pregnancy. In other words, every Sunday is a new week in my pregnancy (i.e. yesterday, I turned 17 weeks; next Sunday I’ll turn 18 weeks, etc.) so I’ll begin every new week of work on The Artist’s Way on Sunday to keep in in line with my pregnancy. Does that make sense? I feel like I used way too many words to describe that.

What do I hope to get out of this 12 week program?

  • Best case scenario: I am so totally inspired that I write the screenplay that will bust open my career like Juno for Diablo Cody.
  • Possible reality: I feel a little more inspired and at peace about current and future creative projects.

Doing this work is also forcing me to wake up before my daughter does, so that I have time in the morning to do the assigned “morning pages” of 3-page free writing.

