I feel like sharing with you some of the films I love as a screenwriter and as someone who respects good movies:

The characters in this movie are amazingly developed.

  1. Friends with Money
  2. Drop Dead Gorgeous
  3. The Royal Tennenbaums
  4. Fargo
  5. The Hours
  6. Waiting for Guffman

Next to the crossword, my favorite part of my New York Magazine that arrives at my house every week is the page rating recent news, called The Approval Matrix. It breaks stories down by a chart that rates them on a scale of high-brow and brilliant all the way to low-brow and dispicable. I would like to create my own and make it about movies. I don’t know how to create a graph on WordPress, so I’m doing it lazy style. And a reminder, this is my blog, so this is merely a judgment on some of the movies I’ve seen, not on all movies ever made (of course, The Godfather, and the like, belong here too, but let’s try to deter from the most beaten path, hmm?)

Most high-brow and brilliant:

American Beauty

Most high-brow and despicable:

Crash

Most low-brow and brilliant:

Office Space

Most low-brow and despicable:

Boys on the Side (it’s possible that this was written to be “high-brow” cuz of all the AIDS and social issues, but it’s just trash.)

One of the worst movies of all time.

Any comments on my choices? Go for it.

