Maybe it’s because I was reading the section in The Artist’s Way last night about sacrificing the financial security of a day job in order to pursue your art, but I dreamed last night that I had the option of taking one of two 9-5 jobs that would pay the bills, but not write my script for me.

Some people thrive on busyness in order to get anything done creatively. Some people need all the hours of the day in order to produce anything remotely creative. I think, pre-children, I was the latter. Post-children, I think… well, I’m still probably the latter. I do thrive on busyness and due-dates, don’t get me wrong. This is why I wouldn’t make a very good housewife (that, and I’m not very good at cooking, I’m no good with a mop, and I keep putting the wrong clothes in the wrong wash cycle.) Of course, this is not to say that housewives aren’t busy (yeah, I’m not walking into a Hilary Rosen incident here) it’s just that it’s a different type of task that she is busy with.

It makes me sad when people have to work jobs they don’t necessarily like because they can’t afford to pursue what they really care about. I get it. I did it for a long time. Now I’m in the boat of having left my day job to pursue my dream job, and I have to say, it’s not a whole lot more pleasant. But I will say that it lights a different kind of fire under your ass when you know that you need to sell your screenplay in order to send your second child to preschool.

The point of this post is not so much to ask how you’re supposed to juggle pursuing your creative job while working your day job, but how do you pursue your creative job when you don’t have the financial security of a day job?

The answer? As quickly as fucking possible.

***

Note: Anyone who thinks Hilary Rosen was saying stay-at-home moms don’t work wasn’t paying attention to what she was saying. Okay, it was over a month ago… it’s time I moved on.

